Hans-Werner Sinn Awarded Ludwig-Erhard Prize

ifo press release, June 28th, 2013

Hans-Werner Sinn, President of the Ifo Institute and Professor of Economics and Public Finance at the University of Munich, was honoured with the Ludwig-Erhard Prize for Economic Journalism last night in Berlin.

The Ludwig-Erhard Prize for Economic Journalism is awarded on an annual basis by the Ludwig-Erhard Foundation. An independent jury decides whom the prize should be awarded to. The foundation uses the prize to honour articles, radio and television programmes and work in scientific publishing that contribute to the preservation and renewal of the social market economy, and thus promote information on and debate over the latter. Winners of the prize in previous years include Harold James, Professor of History at Princeton University, Dr. Otto Graf Lambsdorff, former German Federal Economics Minister and Chairman of the FDP from 1988 to 1993, Prof. Wernhard Möschl, former Chairman of the German Monopolies Commission, as well as Dr. Jens Weidmann, President of the German Bundesbank and member of the ECB Council. This year Niall Ferguson, Professor of History at Harvard University, was co-awarded the Ludwig-Erhard Prize for Economic Journalism with Hans-Werner Sinn.

Commenting on the prize, Professor Hans-Werner Sinn, President of the Ifo Institute, said: “I am delighted to receive such an honour. Ludwig Erhard stands for firm principles, the rule of law and a tight regulatory framework for the economy, which run the risk of being trampled underfoot in Europe. It is high time to remember his lessons.”

Dr. Thomas Mayer, member of the jury of the Ludwig-Erhard Prize said: “In his scientific work Hans-Werner Sinn has repeatedly emphasized the importance of a liberal economy. For him, freedom and responsibility belong together. In his widely acclaimed publications on the euro crisis he has forcefully warned against the decoupling of political autonomy in decision-making and financial responsibility through the mutualisation of government debt.” 

Laudation by Dr. Thomas Mayer, member of the jury of the Ludwig-Erhard-Prize (in German)

Website of the Ludwig-Erhard Foundation

Press article